NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Sky classification

Hi,

I am new to observation and have a few questions.

1) What kind of notes do you do on sky quality (stability and darkness) on observation nights? If you keep track of it at all that is. I have seen som reports that start with a classification of seeing for example. How are they done? On my last observation session, I did an experiment where I found M45 and picked the faintest star I could possibly see. At home, I used Aladin, a star atlas program to locate it. It was this little guy here. It is in the string of stars that run south from the center. It has a visual magnitude of 9.6 - maybe not very impressive as the faintest observable star?   

tm45.thumb.jpg.4a40e091469dd81abb95b50742

2) On my last session, the sky was a bit washed out with a blue hue, probably because of the 100% relative humidity and light scatter from nearby habitation and an airport. How much does dark adaptation really count in such a scenario. I failed to detect the Leo Triplet for example, but I felt that the task was more like telling something gray and fuzzy from something slightly darker and gray/blue :-)