Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Attaching Medium Format Digital Camera to Telescope (Celestron C10)a

Sebastianos

I am the proud owner of a Celestron C10 goto telescope. I have done some basic astro-imaging with a modified webcam and built my own adapter for use with my iPhone for under $20, which works great for photos and video.  Recently I purchased a 51 megapixel, cmos sensor, medium format camera (Pentax 645z) for over $7,000.  I was extremely excited to see what kind of amazing images these two would create together. Sadly,  I have hit a huge roadblock which has seriously put a damper on my excitement. While searching for a T-ring and adapter that would allow for me to pair this amazing piece of technology to my 10 inch telescope, I discovered that there is no such thing available for this particular camera. 

I am no expert by any means in the field of astro-imaging or the science behind the workings of my new camera so please bear with me...Below are some links regarding some of the technical aspects involved, that I have a loose grasp on. It would seem that I can overcome some of these issues, but not sure at what cost to image quality (amount of light hitting sensor and or vignetting...etc)

First some useful information about the camera: 

http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/pentax-645z/pentax-645zA.HTM

Please take note of the sensor size and the weight. It is a large and heavy camera which may require some kind of support or counter balance on the telescope. (not my biggest concern at this point)

Second, the only discussion I have found regarding the pairing of this camera to a telescope:

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3185583