NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Happier with Nextstar evolution or dso setup?

Hi, I am new to star gazing and looking to step up from my binoculars. I am a buy once, cry once kind of person so I don't want to go cheap. Budget being around $2k for a set up. I really like the idea of the ready to go nexstar evolution. Sounds user friendly to a beginner with a nice scope. I would also like to try photography and if I know myself planetary only won't be good enough for long. So should I just get the evolution and enjoy it? Is it good for planetary photography? Is the 9.25 $500 better than the 8? Or can I get a set up that will allow for better ds photography and still have easy set up and use? I guess scope quality and ease of use is first priority, but can I get something with both so I don't need to buy more later?

Next cameras, I shoot outdoor photography, but still use the old 8.5 mp canon rebel, so I am in need of a major upgrade. Is there a good option for regular outdoor use and astrophotography or do I need something specialized for ds imaging? Budget $1500

Appreciate any advice, thanks.

GoTo telescopes, like the Nexstar-series, are excellent scopes judging by people's reviews right in this forum. As for 8" or 9.25" - that's up to your budget. I don't think anyone here can honestly say if the added 1.25" is worth $500. Or $5,000. I can tell you that an 8" telescope is often considered to be the aperture that will show you enough new objects to last you the rest of your life - and more lives as well.

As for photography and a camera that will excell in daytime shoots, and nighttime work, you could fire off an email to a few shops that specialize in both photography and astronomy - and do both very well from most accounts. Including my own:

http://telescopes.net/store/index.php

That's Woodland Hills Camera and Telescopes. And this is Oceanside Photo & Telescope:

http://www.optcorp.com/