Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Reflections and Absorbtions

Dom543

This is my first attempt to look for color and contrast in reflection and dark nebulae.

Unfortunately the contrasts of the captures are fainter at daylight than were while sitting out there under the moonless sky. Please try to look at the images in a darker environment.

First, dust illuminated by the orange glow of Antares (off the image to the left) and blue reflections of Rho Ophiuchi surrounding dark bayous of Barnard 44.

post-26379-0-40090800-1429561516.jpg

To my best knowledge 22 Scorpii is the double (triple?) star in the upper left, Rho Ophiuchi is the triple star in the lower right and IC4603 is the nebulosity in the lower center.

Next is a frame shifted closer towards Antares and showing dark lanes of Barnard 44. The bright star is 22 Scorpii.

post-26379-0-03828900-1429561862.jpg

Unfortunately, at this point, I am not able to bring out more of the otherwise abundant blue reflections around the brighter stars. It washes into the background. Trying to shift the hues to emphasize blue more turns the orange glow into green.

As said, this was a first try. Any suggestions are welcome.

The equipment used was a Nikkor 180mm f2.8 lens with UV/IR cut filter, Lodestar x2C and LodestarLive v.0.11.

Clear Skies!

--Dom

(I have to post this without reviewing it, due to fading internet connection. Apologize for typos and other errors.)

Hi Dom,

It may be worth un-ticking auto-align of the colour channels and slide the blue channel (by selecting blue and then adjusting the brightness) a little to the right - might help bring out blue a bit more.

Paul

Thank you Paul! Here is my second iteration from yesterday night.

This is a slightly wider field of view with a 135mm SMC Takumar lens at f2.5. (The subscription is inaccurate, I forgot to update from the night before.)

post-26379-0-14122100-1429644776.jpg