Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Buying an XT8 dob but no eyepiece, advice needed!

Hi everyone,

Complete newbie here but I have done quite a bit of reading so have some idea of what's going on. I'm trying to get a telescope as a gift for my husband - he's very keen to get into astronomy but has never had a telescope, so I'm getting this for him as a gift. I don't know if it helps, but we are keen birders and therefore lots of experience locating things with binoculars and terrestrial scopes. I can come out and ask what he wants as it's a gift, but I think he would very much like the challenge of having to navigate to and locate objects, and so I think a goto scope is unnecessary

After lots of research I have decided to go for the Orion Skyquest XT8 - it's a bit over my budget but I think worth the extra over the XT6, and I have found a secondhand one in near perfect condition.

The problem is that is doesn't have an eyepiece. From what I have been reading, the 25mm that it comes with is actually not a very widely used eyepiece though.

Therefore I would really, really love some advice as to whether I should go for this and purchase a separate eyepiece (as giving him the scope without the eyepiece would be a bit mean!)

Specifically:

- what would you recommend considering a tight budget?

- better to get 2 cheaper ones and have more potential or one better quality one?

I was possibly thinking about something like this:

http://goo.gl/0mlF2z

Although now getting pricey

....or should I just pay for a complete, new XT8 and let him get the upgrades (and pay for them :p ) as he wishes

Thanks everyone!
Emma