NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Which subs make a better image?

PhotoGav

I call upon your experience, please...

I am working on an image of M31 and have a fair bit of data (decent, though not necessarily from perfect skies, I've rejected quite a large number of hazy subs already) collected so far. My question is: which subs would it be best to capture more of to make an improvement to the final image? So far I have (approx):

L 9 x 1200s

L 13 x 120s

Ha 6 x 1200s

R 12 x 600s

G 12 x 600s

B 12 x 600s

The forecast is for a decent clear sky tonight, so should I add perhaps another half an hour to each of R, G, B & L 120s and then give the rest of the night to L 1200s or should I just do a whole whole night of L 1200s thereby adding a few more hours to it?

Basically, will just more Luminanace data give a better end result or would more colour data as well be of more help to the final image?

I'm very new to LRGB imaging, so hope that you can help me learn!

Thank you.

It's hard to tell what's the best exposure time and frames count. If a camera has very low read noise and is cooled so that dark current isn't a noticeable factor (like Atik 314L+ or other similar Sony ICX camera) then even relatively short frames will catch "all" the signal from the target. More noisy camera would need longer exposures to bring signal above noise level (if the noise isn't rising as fast as the signal).

With my Atik314 imaging I recently started shooting many 3 or sometimes 5 min frames, and even at 3 min I can get some "empty space" on the left side of the histogram. Multiple stacked frames nicely cancel out the noise and in general it works. If the luminance is good, color may be less good, or shot binned to make it even quicker.