NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

hand held binoculars budget £150

Hello all

I apologies in advance as I'm sure variations of this question must get asked all the time and it's probably rather tiresome for experienced members.

I'm eager to start, have decided that as a complete novice binoculars are the way to go. Having read several threads on this and other sites I'm utterly confused as to whether I want to go 8x42; 10x50; 12x56; 15x70 etc. I want to get fullycoated/fully multi-coated; with diopter. I'd probably be going handheld, unless the general view is that a tri/monopod means I can get heavier binos and they will really open up a whole new world....?Advice on this most welcome.

From my limited research and even more limited knowledge, I'm thinking of going Barr&Stroud Savannah 12x56 to start me off, see how I go. Or maybe Nickon Action VII 10x50?

It'd be good to be able to take them travelling - I go to Los Picos de Europ[a a lot so it would be good to take there with me, but I'd suffer the hassle of packing tri/monpost etc if the general view is the paybeck is worth it. But the fact of the matter is I live in London so light pollution is an issue though trips out beyond the M25 certainly are on the cards. 

If increasing my budget to £200 significantly helps, then I'll happily do that.

Or am I better off starting with a cheap pair of 10x50 - Celestron Cavalry or 8x42 and see how I go? Or an old pair of Carl Zeiss Jenna 10x50s or 7x50s or 8x30s?

Grateful for any advice

For general use the "standard" 8x42's seem to give good all round performance.

They will do everything that you will need and are easy to use by hand. I keep a set in the car.

Binoculars are for general viewing, you are not going to see surface features of the planets, they remain as small disc's and that is it. Clusters come up well in binoculars. They are not high magnification bits of equipment.

Which ones(brand) to get is more difficult.