SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

installing EQMOD and other assosiated software to run on remote desktop

oldpink

first of this by no means a tutorial, its to try to help newbies like me, though I do profess that I work in IT and code my own sites
but configuring my system to do what I wanted using existing software proved a challenge and pitfalls I didn't expect

but managed to get around most by some research and some additional tools that helped

let me start by running down my set up

I have an EQ5 synscan mount with my Sky watcher 200p mounted but for the purpose of this post I did the setup with nothing more than the mount and the correct cables

and some freely available software I am able to set my scope up and align it more or less remotely from the comfort of my bedroom

step 1

I took an Intel X2 Acer laptop I have used for nearly 3 years and dropped a new hard drive in and installed windows ultimate (you can do the same with pro or any non home editions)

but for remote desktop your laptop has to be XP or 7 x64 above the home versions as I can't test backward compatibility

first off I did a clean install on the laptop to allow remote desktop with windows ultimate

then installed the latest ASCOM drivers from the site

I've also set up a network
then installed my current camera (ASI120mc) and associated SDK's

next I went to EQMOD's site and downloaded there latest ver of the EQASCOM package and installed it
a quick reboot to settle the system proved useful and a couple of tutorials from the EQMOD page had me connected via my laptop
and I could use Stellarium to control the mount after a basic configuration of the basic parameters

with no more than a £2 lead from E bay to convert USB to serial 

initially every thing worked on the laptop and I could use stellarium to slew the scope and use align master  in simulated mode (align master costs about £10 but worth it if you install EQMOD)

as they wok in tandum