Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Location, Location, Location.

Ok. So I am relatively new to Astro-photography / Astronomy. I know a little but my main problem is I live in Central London.

I've taken trips out to darker skies but don't get there anywhere near often enough to refine my skills and learn properly. Certainly not often enough to make any investment in equipment worth while.

My question is this. I have seen Light Pollution filters, they apparently "work" but are they good enough to make astro-imaging a real option in Central London?

I've been building a barn door tracker so I can do 30 second+ exposures, am I wasting my time even with a light pollution filter?

I am using a Canon DSLR 500D with a selection of lenses, 24mm F2.8, 50mm F1.8 and a 500mm F8.

I have had reasonable results with the Moon and zoom lenses within London but so far have only managed anything else when out of the city. Is buying a filter (they are like £150 for a good one?) going to be worth while for me?

Here are some images I have taken so far while in dark skies,

8060564163_246e7b5484_b.jpg

8408663888_aa9504a1dc_b.jpg

9427910637_0308721ab9_b.jpg

Am I going to be able to do this from London, with a pollution filter or am I expecting too much from them?

I want to improve on these images. So far they are all stationary with no tracking and as such are limited to 15s or 6s depending on my lens. I'm stacking them now too as I learn but can't learn quickly when I can't take pictures!

Any advice on Pollution filters and Astronomy from within a city would be great :)

Problem is that a light pollution filter will filter out the sodium yellow light, sodium produces a narrow set of wavelengths and so this is easy.