NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Thinking ahead - mounts.

I have an St102, which I think is a brilliant little entry level scope. But it came with an EQ1 mount, which I think is a bit pants (to use my son's vocabulary).

So, I'm thinking in the future that I'll need to upgrade and I might as well go for a GOTO mount while I'm at it.

I'm slightly torn between two, a regular Synscan one that retails for around £200 and an EQ3 PRO that goes for around £350-£400. I don't really need a super-duper all singing and dancing mount as firstly, I don't do any imaging and I'm reluctant to spent serious amounts while I'm still pretty new to my hobby.

So, my main question is - is the Eq3 pro worth the extra over the regular skywatcher synscan mount? Or is there something I haven't considered?

Thanks once again in advance.

I've got the EQ3-2 Synscan -- I think it's a keeper. It's sturdy, light weight and the synscan is definitely worth it.

I'm not sure though what you mean by EQ3 pro over ''regular'' synscan mount. Somebody correct if I'm wrong, but as far as I'm aware if you're mount synscan is mostly ''pro'' and vice versa :) Probably the pro version is the EQ3 version 2 (EQ3-2 - same one I have)

Since you're thinking ahead, you might as well consider what you will grow into in the future. This hobby takes further in no time. And for this reason a decent mount will serve the purpose, say, if you want to do some imaging.