firstscope focuser

i have recently brought a celestron firstscope and since buying a celestron x2 barlow+moon filter and a 12mm omni ep when i point the scope anywhere below say 70degree's alt the focuser will not hold focus and wind down with the weight of the new combo of equiptment! any suggestions as i am new to al this!:)

Thanks Tim

Thank you russty for you fast reply! i was hoping to avoid that as it is difficult to get into town atm. there are some screws in and around the focuser but i am not sure what they do as i've never taken one apart... which normally i would do but this will void my warrenty and if it turns out to be a big problem i won't be covered! i was hoping it might just be a case of tweeking but don't want to break it!

Hi Timbo32,

I think Russty's advice to return it to the dealer, or at least contact them for advice is sound.

I had a look at the Celestron website and a promotional video for this scope, talk about over-egging the pudding!...

There doesn't appear to be a user friction adjustment for the focuser which kind of suggests it wasn't designed for heavy eyepieces, at least not in combination with a barlow.

If there is a friction adjustment for the factory set-up then it will be under the black cover secured by the two philips cross-head screws, shown either side of the chrome drive shaft in your picture.

Looking at the focuser on the Celestron web-site there are no adjustment screws on the opposite side to the drive shaft (not seen in your photo).

If you do remove the cover for a look-see and scratch the paint or mark the screw heads then the dealer may invalidate the warranty since there are no user instructions in the manual telling you to do this.

The focuser design very much reminds me of a Tasco refractor telescope that my younger brother had forty+ years ago, that focuser used to slip as well.