NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Looking for a book

thegman2

Hi all,

This is my first post just to let you know. I have been doing astronomy for about 6 months now and i am looking for a good book. I have several books already such as phillips stargazing 2013, Turn left at orion and sky&telescopes pocket sky atlas(which hasnt been delieverd yet). I have for the most part been using stellarium for my pc and found that it is very comprehensive and easy to use. Most books i have used however seem to show slight differences in the constellations which can be anoying as i would like to know a whole constellation before moving on and learning a new one... Is there a book out there that is easy and comprehenisve that any one could recommend and doesnt have variations like i am having? When i neab variations i mean ursa major and a couple of other constellations are different by one or two stars compared to what i learned from stellarium, such as Ursa Major and Cassiopeia.

The reason i mentioned this is i am starting to travel into darker places for better viewing and i dont like taking my laptop with me as its rather anoying and the battery runs out :)

I use The Monthly Sky Guide by Ridpath, the problem is that the minor stars of the bigger constellations are a bit questionable. 2 close together and you can be sure one person will pick one and the next person the other one. As much as anything to be different.

Throw in that some of the constellations defined are relatively new, so you have classic Greek, Roman, Arabic and whatever has been defined recently. The southern hemisphere ones were not in existance until sometime around 1500-1600 if they were defined then so all them are new and there are the Chinese and other Asian constellations.

Many stars are simply so insignificant they are unnamed and very likely uncatalogued.