NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

The beast has arrived! Skyliner 200p dob, need help setting up please

Hello after choosing my first telescope i went ahead and ordered from firstlightoptics , it arrived it 2 days thats excellent service for you :)

I built the stand , set up the scope

I also bought a cheshire but it came with no instructions.

I had a look out my window i am having the following problems

The finderscope image is perfectly upside down which is what i expected,

However

i look through the viewer and the image is way off from the finder image, and the image is not perfectly upside down rather facing south west and upside down. how do i fix this please?

i have the £26 cheshire but i have no idea how to use it and safely ajust the mirrors

I am really sorry if this has been asked before i am a complete noob and this is my very first telescope.

, i really would appriciate some help getting this fixed , so when the weather clears one day i will be 100% ready to go :)

, i also noticed there is 1 barlow ? bit which i cant seem to find a place to attach it ? whats it for ?

thank you

Hi mate if I was u I would just google all the above , ie " how to set up a finder scope " . The first thing I do before asking any questions is go on YouTube . I too have the 200 dob and I learnt a lot on YouTube about collimating telrads etc . Your Barlow goes on to your focuser then you insert an eye piece into your Barlow . Hope this helps and good luck with your dob I'm sure u will enjoy all those starlit nights , kev

Hi! I just got the same scope as you :)

To allign the finder scope, in daylight center something far away in the eyepiece, like the top of an antenna, street light or similar. Start with the eyepiece that gives you the lowest magnification. Then you twist the two thumb screws on the finder scope to center that object in the finder. After that, switch to higher magnification, and repeat the adjustment on the finder.