NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Skywatcher Skyliner 200P Dobsonian vs EQ5 and other questions from a total beginner.

Hi All,

I'm totally new to astronomy but have been wanting to get into it for some time. Like all newbies I have already for bogged down in what telescope to buy; what mount etc.

So, I think I have decided on the Skywatcher Skyliner 200P Dobsonian or EQ5.

I am already a keen photographer but understand that translating that to astrophotography is costly as well as maybe running before I can walk?

So, if I were to learn to walk with the Dobsonian, would I still be able to do basic astrophotography (the moon for example)? Or do I ignore that all-together until I upgrade to an equatorial mount, goto motor etc?

Also, if I were to go for the cheaper Dobsonian, what other basic equipment would you recommened I get ( eye-peices, filters etc).

I guess this is a very broad topic, but I need some help getting things a bit clearer in my head :-)

Many thanks

Farren

It is possible to get an image of the moon with an undriven dobsonian, but I don't remember seeing any decent planetary or deep sky images from one. A Skyliner 200P Dob is an outstanding visual instrument though. Very good views of both solar system and deep sky objects. As to recommended accessories, the only things that I would consider essential from the start would be a collimation tool (Cheshire) and a Telrad or Rigel QuikFinder illuminated finder. Eyepieces / filters etc. depend on the targets you want to look at, so you need to spend some time observing before you will know which ones to choose.

Bear in mind that if you do get into it, you'll probably end up spending as much if not more on bits and pieces than you spend on the scope.

Spend as much as you can and then a bit more as well.........