Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Advice Requested on Celestron Ultima-LX 5mm Wide Angle Eyepiece (1.25" & 2")

Good day All,

Let me preface this by stating, I am very green at this. I'm 34, this is my first telescope (though I previously owned a freelance photography company, and have experience with optics) - stargazing is new to me.

After careful research, I decided on the Meade 10" Lightbridge DOB. I went with this because of a few reasons. First, I live on 1/2 acre of fairly low light pollution property. So a more cumbersome scope was ok in my mind. Second, the scope accepts 2" EPs, which seem to allow for a better AFOV (from what I've read anyway - again, I'm new at this, so please feel free to correct me if I'm incorrect with anything.) And finally, the cost was under $1000.00 which suited my budget.

Now onto my question:

I received the scope yesterday. I unpacked it, took careful precautions putting it together. Used some Windex to clean up the mirror (joking). Carefully read the instructions. And brought the scope outside to give it a go. The scope comes with a 2" 26mm EP. While it seemed to certainly highlight anything I pointed it at, at 50x magnification - I really was not getting much. I could not discern any object in the sky, so I could not be sure as to what I was looking at.

There was no moon out, so I was attempting to view Jupiter, as I hear it is supposed to be splendid this month. But I just could not make heads or tails out of it. Is it the eyepiece, or am I doing something wrong? After my viewing session, I started to look more into EPs. I saw the Celestron U-LX 5mm for a reasonable price, but wanted to know opinions on it prior to purchasing. I also wanted to be sure I am going to correct route. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks everyone.

-Brian