First time buyer advice, dual purpose scope

Hi all

I am a complete beginner and would like to buy an affordable scope for digiscoping birds and astrophtography.

I have looked at almost all telescopes under the price of £200. Here are the ones I have looked at:

Celestron C90 MAK - Problem with this is I don't have a mount and buying a mount for it will make it very expensive.

Skywatcher Mercury 705 AZ3 - Good reviews as first scope and advertised for both terrestrial and astronomy.

Skywatcher Startravel 102 AZ3 - Is it worth paying £70 extra for this compared to Mercury 705?

P.S. How easy are the skywatchers to be adapted for DSLR?

Are there any other scopes one would recommend?

Thank you very much.

Hi There,

Bang for buck you are better off with a dobsonian, you can get the 150p for £203.

Referring back to the scopes you have listed the 102 is a substantial refractor and will give much better views than the 70mm. Both do hower come with a fitting for connection to a dslr. You will need to get the appropriate t-ring for your camera... However neither come with a mount substantial enough to give you a stable platform for long exposure.

If you are after the images you see regularly posted on SGL then you will be disappointed.

As you say you are a beginner, start off with the Dob and then move on, best of all go to a local astro group and see what others are using.

It is also worth getting a good guide to the night sky - Pocket Sky Atlas is about £8 from Amazon and a copy of ' making every photon count' which is a great guide to astrophotography.

It is also worth downloading a copy of Stellarium, a free planetarium program which can be downloaded from here :---

http://www.stellarium.org/

In general astrophotography = large wallet.

Clear Skies