NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

a bit of advice please

hi all

i am new to stargazing after weeks of looking at telescopes and reading reviews i am still confused,

for me i need a portable telescope with a goto mount i think this will educate me in where objects are plus i will be able to transport my scope without to much trouble.

so my short list is under 300 pound-

sk 127 supertrak

sk 102 synscan

Celestron NexStar 90 SLT

meade etx

i would like the meade but the sk 127 supertrak seems to be very popular.

for a first scope i think it needs to be hassle free, reliable and fairly robust i dont expect my first scope to do everything and i am very tempted to get a refractor or a scope more for planets and then move onto other scopes later.

tips, advice, info, guidance anything realy as i am all confused and will be ordering my first scope this weekend.

The Supatrack is not a goto, it will not locate an object, you locate the object and the scope, if set up correctly, will track it as the earth rotates.

The remaining 3 are goto I believe: SW 102 synscan, Celestron NexStar 90 SLT, meade etx.

The slight disadvantage of the 90 SLT if it is the one I think it is, is that it is a Mak and these have a narrow field of view.

I see that there is a 102 Mak as well, I had assumed the 102 refractor.

I say disadvantage as to align these scope it is necessary that the alignment stars appear in the view of the scope. If narrow then alignment can be a pain in the rear.

If the 102 you are refering to is the refractor then the view is fairly wide. So alignment easier.

The ETX is an 80mm short refractor. I have a Meade and the alignment is pretty straight forward. Just as long as you know which direction North is (Polaris).

People will berate Meades but mine is 12 years old and going fine, and if you search for faults on Skywatcher and Celestrons there are a lot over the last 12 months. Equally someone's Autostar ceased on them last week.