NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Catseye Center Spot + First Proper Collimation - Newbie Report

pajr777

My Catseye template and spot (well, triangle) arrived today, just over a week from dispatch in the USA - not too bad!

As observing anything other than orange cloud was off the agenda tonight I was eager to set about installing the new spot. As a newbie I was a little nervous about dismantling my lovely TAL - but the long and short of it was pretty straight forward. Great instructions from Catseye, a steady hand, a pair of sharp tweezers and a 20x jewellers loupe all combined for a painless and accurate application of the triangle.

Starting at 18:30, I think the spot was on, and scope reassembled without incident by about 19:30.

Almost three frustrating hours later I was happy with the collimation!!

The biggest lesson for me was just how sensitive the whole shebang is to the exact rotational and lateral alignment of the secondary mirror - if this is not absolutely precise then the primary mirror reflection is either not circular or not centred in the focuser tube. So lots of iterative adjustments before I was happy.

The primary adjustment takes minutes in comparison.

One of my frustrations was with my vision - the TAL has slotted screws for tilt adjustment of the secondary, so it was glasses on - insert screwdriver blade into screw - glasses off - look through collimation cap - screwdriver blade has slipped from slot - glasses on etc etc ad nauseum!

Finally happy and hopefully will not have to mess with the secondary anytime soon.

Thanks to Jim Fly of Catseye for great instructions and a free second triangle (just in case B) ) :D , and Astro Baby for a brilliant guide to Newt collimation ;) .

Anyones guess how long it will be till a star test - dratted weather :icon_salut:

Welcome to the club. I got one a few months ago for my fast F2.8 reduced 8 inch newtonian and it does the job perfectly once you get the hang of it.