Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

DSLR to scope..

OK so i know with DSLR astro imaging i'm going to need an T Ring. i just want to clarify how it works etc...

The T ring screws to the body of the camera creating a thread to attach the camera to the scope ?

How would using a zoom lens work with the camera etc..

sorry about the newb question but i just want to make sure iv'e got all bases covered

cheers guys !

I'm using a Canon G11 and here is a link to my setup. I'm a two months in complete noob but I have spent countless hours recently trying to connect my Canon G11 to my 8 inch Dob. Here is a link to my flickr account with pictures of the pieces needed to attach the Canon G11 to my scope.

Flickr: skyquest1028's Photostream

I had to order an additional piece. It's an 1.25 eye piece tube to 58mm. What this piece solves is attaching the camera with the 58mm filter adapter over my eye piece. Since the Canon's G11 lens does not come off, you have to use the eye piece to focus in on object. I used to use a piece of pvc plastic pipe and a metal bracket to latch my camera on to the eye piece. It was a pain to setup and get in the exact position every time.

So for my camera I needed a 58mm filter adapter. I then need a step down ring 58mm to 1.25 T-adapter. Be careful with the step down ring as you can get the wrong one. Make sure it says 58mm filter step down ring. There is a step down 58mm ring that doesn't have 58mm threading. I then needed a 1.25 T-adapter with barlow lens. Finally I needed the 1.25 -tadapter tube to hold the entire assembly on to the eye piece.

I tried every way possible to get my camera to focus without the eye piece. I even took out the 1.25 eye piece holder on the telescope and held the camera as close to the secondary mirror as possible but it still would not focus. I'll post some new pictures of my setup soon as it comes in.