Getting first telescope help needed

Im a undergraduate who is currently taking a module about astronomy. And I have grew more interest into this area, so i have decided to get a telescope! As a beginner i really need experienced/professional help. Have been looking out for the last few days, spotted Orion Starblast 6 Astro which has rather good reviews, however it doesnt have a tripod! Some others that i have found are Orion AstroView 6 Equatorial reflector telescope Orion Spaceprobe 130ST Computerized telescope . There are so many choices out there, so i really hope that i can get some help here! Any recommendation that fits my requirements ;) I have a few requirements for my first telescope 1) Reflector 2) Tripod 3) Not more than USD$400 4) Aperture not less than 5inches

go for the astroview 6 we call it the skywatcher 150p over here it's a very good scope it's not an imaging mount so don't worry about photography although if you use a webcam it should be able to do the moon and planets. For visual work though the astroview is a good scope plenty big enough to see a lot under dark skies and a fair bit under urban skies. The general rule is to get the biggest you can afford and this one is about it. Welcome to SGL and I hope your course goes well. There are plenty of tutorials online on setting up an equatorial mount if you can't find the orion version look for skywatcher eq3-2 it's the same mount under a different name.

Hi Tiingshii, welcome to SGL

Since you budget is in USD and you are looking at the Orion Starblast, may I assume you are located in the USA? SGL is mainly a UK and European forum, so it's best if you say where you are. Some telescopes available in this side of the Atlantic may not be available on the other side, so we will need to change our advice accordingly.

The Starblast is a good beginner scope, roughly equivalent to a Skywatcher 150p in Europe. It's a dobsonian, so it won't need a tripod.