Skywatcher Evostar150 and Canon 1000D DSLR Help Please

MustangMarkF

Hi All,

After lots and lots of saving and lack of a holiday for a couple of years I finally got enough cash together to get a Skywatcher Evostar150, a HEQ5Pro goto mount, a revelation eyepiece set inc balow, and a EOS adapter and T piece. This is my first scope - though I have been spending the last few years using bins to feed my star gazing needs! But essentially I am a complete noob to this.

Ive already set up the scope and seen some gobsmacking views of the sky - despite being cursed with cloudy skies almost every night since I got the scope! Tonight there was a lovely view Jupiter and its moons that I would have loved to have shared and there in lays my problem.

I know long term I will be looking at a laptop and a webcam for producing decent images but after sepnding all my hard earned on the scope etc - that will have to wait. At the moment I would just be happy being able to produce some so so images through the scope.

Ive tried twice now - once at the moon (figured it was a bright big thing that even I couldn't miss) and once again tonight at jupiter. On both occasions my intention was to remove the lens from the DSLR and screw in the adapter and T piece and place it were the eyepiece was - then to use the screen at the back of the 1000D and focus in on the target and then use the zoom buttons to gain a closer look and fine tune the focus. However, the problem is the screen is just showing black - nothing on it at all - so nothing to focus in on.

On both occasions I've moved the focus wheel all the way back and forth to see if it pics up anything without luck. Ive then removed the diagonal and put the T piece in the end of the scope to see if that has any effect - again without luck.

• Is my methodology wrong?
  • Does my camera really need to be modded? (hope not as I do a fair amount of normal photography and would like to keep the camera for that)