Confused beginner - astrophotography

Hi, I'm a complete beginner to astronomy, I know where the moon and sun are, and am looking to purchase my first telescope. I now know I need something with a motor drive and due to my complete ignorance a "goto" function. What I am confused with is the focal lenght of telescopes. In photography the greater the focal length, the greater the magnification. To photograph the moon you need at least a lens of at least 400mm to get a resonable sized dot in the frame. So, how is it telescopes with a focal length 650mm tell me that I will be able to see craters of the moon?

Please excuse my ignorance and potential use of incorrect terminology.

Any help would be much appreciated.

A camera is lens + sensor. A telescope is lens + eyepiece plus eye. The eyepiece's role is magnify the image provided by the telescope's lens. Change the eyepiece nd you get a different magnification.

It helps me to think about the light path.

In a camera, you have multiple beams of light (let's think about light coming from infinity to keep things easy) entering a lens, and being focused onto a sensor. If everything is working properly, all light coming from a certain point of the thing you want to image will be focused to the same point. Light coming from elsewhere in the object will be focused to a different point.

The field of view of such a system is calculated based on the maximum angle that light can come from and still hit the sensor -- i.e. the light that hits the edge of the sensor. For two cameras with the same sensor, but different focal lengths, the one with the longer focal length will have a smaller field of view. Thus the pictures it creates will contain a smaller chunk of the object spread over the same area -- thus we say that this camera system has a higher magnification.