NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

help with guiding

cal1985

Hi all, i have just bought myself a new HEQ5 a celestron 80mm guide scope and a synguider.. i have been using a eq2 without guiding for about 2 years and finally got the money saved up for the good stuff! i spend around 3 hours last night poloraligning and getting everything perfect with the mount. the goto works perfect and no star trails for about 45secs to 1min. what im really having difficulty with is the guider and new guide scope. i tried to image orion last night and when the synguider picked up the star it would hop to and from differnt stars, so i thought that maybe they were to close. . i then tried to imaage M31 but couldn't get any stars to show on the synguider, i tried to up the exposure time and the noise level but nothing... is this a bad guide camera i have bought or is this somthing im doing wrong ?

Hi all, i have just bought myself a new HEQ5 a celestron 80mm guide scope and a synguider.. i have been using a eq2 without guiding for about 2 years and finally got the money saved up for the good stuff! i spend around 3 hours last night poloraligning and getting everything perfect with the mount. the goto works perfect and no star trails for about 45secs to 1min. what im really having difficulty with is the guider and new guide scope. i tried to image orion last night and when the synguider picked up the star it would hop to and from differnt stars, so i thought that maybe they were to close. . i then tried to imaage M31 but couldn't get any stars to show on the synguider, i tried to up the exposure time and the noise level but nothing... is this a bad guide camera i have bought or is this somthing im doing wrong ?

This thread should be in Imaging discussion, not the deep sky imaging gallery... but someone will probably move it :-)

The Synguider is a PITA... that's the simple answer :-)