NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Beginning Astrophotograhy Questions

Hey all,

Been lurking on here for a while so this is my first post :smiley: I have had an Orion SkyQuest XT8 Dobsonian for visual use for the past couple months and am in love with it! However I have been wanting to combine my two hobbys for a while now (photography and astronomy!) I know that dobsonians are pretty terrible for astrophotography so I was hoping you guys could help me out, since I am a college student I am on a budget.

Currently I am considering either the OMNI XLT 102mm Refractor or the OMNI XLT 120mm Refractor from Celestron. I was planning on the XLT 150mm reflector tube but I heard it has problems focusing with prime-focus DSLR (cant bring camera in close enough to focus). My main questions are:

1) With the XLT 102 or 120mm: Are these scope suitable for Long-exposure DSO Imaging? I would like to take pictures of Andromeda and other nebulas in our galaxy. My fear is that I will have the same problem with my dobsonian (cant bring the image to focus). Would I need to purchase a new focuser or would the stock one work? I plan on using my 2" Prime Focus adapter from Orion:http://www.telescope.com/2-Prime-Focus-Camera-Adapter/p/5269.uts?keyword=prime%20focus with my Canon EOS Rebel T3.

2) The OMNI XLT CG-4 mount, it has a 20lb limit and the scope is 9-12lbs. Along with my DSLR (Canon EOS Rebel T3) will the mount be acceptable? I was also planning on equipping the mount with a dual-axis motor and guidescope/autoguider. It will be under 20lbs but just don't know if thats "under-enough" for stability. I would like to take long exposure DSO shots.