NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

How do you subtract darks & flats using Maxim?

Can somebody please just run through for me the key essential steps, or point me to a video (if one exists) of how you use the Maxim software to substract flats & darks from your images. I'm a beginner to astroimaging & processing and so far I have ignored flats & darks - but for my next step at making improvements I really need to get my head around these now.

I think I know how to generate the flats & darks, but I have no idea how you actually use Maxim software to subtract them. So if somebody could kindly just outline the steps you follow to do this, it would be very helpful.

Thanks,

Martin

You should also take some BIAS frames. Copy all your BIAS, DARK and FLAT frames into a single directory, let's call it 'calibration'

In Maxim select Process - Set Calibration

Tick Calibrate Bias, Calibrate Dark, Calibrate Flat and Bias subtract Flats

Under 'Source Folder', browse to the folder that holds your calibration files

Click on the Autogenerate Button.

Select the BIAS group in the top window and set attribute of Combine Type 'average'

Repeat for the DARKS

Select the FLATS group in the top window and set attribute of Combine Type 'median' and tick the 'apply boxcar filter' box

Click on the Replace with Masters button. Click on OK when the software finishes producing the masters.

The above prepares your various calibration files in readiness for calibrating your images.

Load in your images

Select Process - Calibrate all then click on OK

Job done!

I wrote this based on v5 but the older version is all but identical.

Calibration with MaxIm.

First of all, attend to your filing system. MaxIm has ways of collecting cal frames and assembling them into masters and assigning them a group name. Rather than wade through all that simply attach a new folder to your current image sub-frame folder. Call this new folder Cal.