NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What to image next.....

stan26

Hi guys, I'm fairly new to Astronomy/astro-Imaging but I feel I'm making good progress up the steep learning curve, I now have pleasing images of the M42, and the M51 and have now got to grips with using DSS and Photoshop. I feel I'm about done with the M51 (for now) and ready to move on to try another object. I am limited to very basic imaging kit i.e EQ3-2/ST102 as per signature, so bareing this in mind what could you recommend....?

I have almost no views east, but excellent views south south/west, and limited views north (large trees next door) I do have fairly dark skies BUT do have one single steet lamp 75yards west of my garden. I would love to try the M101, but I read this is very faint so maybe out of the question for my prefered 30sec subs......

Any suggestions

Many thanks

Stan

M101 unfortunately needs long subs to show up at all... 5mins plus ideally and a feed few hours of data at anything slower than f5.

Someone posted a list of actual surface brightness of a load of Messier objects. M51 is quite near the top as it's a nice compact bright galaxy. M81 is actually slightly brighter still but may be a bit too east for you? M101 is right at the bottom.

If you don't mind staying up late the North American nebula and a few other cool things around the band of the milky way are starting to come up about midnight. That's sort of northish I think.

Not so much around in the West now that Orion and the Pleiades are below the horizon by the time it's dark.

Maybe try a few globular clusters? They work great with short subs and there are a good few around. M13 maybe?

Ben

You could try M65 and M66. They are close to each other in Leo in the South-West. For something brighter, how about the globular clusters M5 and M13. You might need to wait a month or two for them if you can't see South-East.

Good luck!