Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Family Night Under The Stars

Skylook123

First, as a way of introduction, I have been doing public outreach for almost 15 years. It gives me the most enjoyment I receive in this wonderous adventure. My astronomy club of almost 400 members is very active in public outreach, with about 50 of us doing over a dozen events most months. I participate in at least half. A vast majority are at schools, but an occasional municipal park, or scout unit, or even our local University of Arizona will hold specific events that we support. For the last three years, I've been privileged to be the coordinator of the Grand Canyon Star Party, where 70 or more astronomers from around North America spend 8 nights bringing night environmental awareness to the Park visitors. Three years ago, with perfect weather for the whole event, we had 77,000 visitor contacts for the week.

Every time out with one of my telescopes for a public event, I try to write an observing report. I have certain memory problems where it is difficult for me to remember prior happenings, so these serve to help me relive some of the best experiences one can have, opening the night skies to new eyes. Please enjoy!

April 30, 2011 - Marana Family Night Under The Stars

Location: Ora Mae Harn Park, Marana, Arizona, about 10 miles from home

Weather: Mid 80s at sunset, low 50s when we quit around 10:15 PM. Zero cloud cover, no appreciable wind

Seeing and Transparency: Both kind of rough, considering the high winds and resulting dust kicked up the last few days

Equipment:

Lunt LS60THa/B600 solar telescope

10" f/10 2540mm Meade SCT

Both instruments on an Atlas EQ-G GEM