NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

black hole

Hi i am a bit of a newbie, But have a couple of questions about black holes for anyone who may be able to help. do we have an estimate of the gravatational force require to cause a black hole and when its a fully fledged black hole how much of this force as a percentage is actually exerted back past the event horizion onto our universe.

Black hole formation depends on squeezing matter to a certain density - the squeezing is done by the objects's own gravity pulling inwards. How much density you need depends on the total mass: as the mass gets bigger you actually require lower density.

So you can make a black hole out of anything, simply by piling together enough of it, until it collapses under its own gravitational weight. Stars are mostly made of hydrogen and helium, but you could make one out of sand or water if you just had enough of it. Making very tiny black holes requires much higher density so ordinary matter won't work: it might be possible for these to be created by certain elementary particle processes but that's still hypothetical.

The gravity of a black hole is like the gravity of anything else: it extends infinitely. If the Sun were a black hole we'd still be orbiting around it, it's just that we wouldn't see it.

It's only when you get very close to a black hole that things get hairy. The hole is very much smaller than a regular star but has the same graviational influence as one. If you cross a certain critical threshhold then you find you can't turn back, and you're a gonner.

thats one of the many bits i cant get my head round. the forces of gravity involved are large enough to distort space time and cause the black hole in the first place,why then is such a massive force so localised to the very rimm of the black hole,? why with such a distortion does it not act more violently on the surrounding matter and pull it all in.

sorry for my simple logic.;)