Help with guide books and tutorials for mono processing

Hi,

I have been doing OSC astrophotography for a couple of years but have just taken the plunge into mono imaging and so I trying to get to grips with a QHY268M camera with QHY filter wheel and Astronomik LRGBSHO filters. What I am struggling the most with is the processing. My first night out was imaging the Rosette nebula in SHO.

I have had some success stacking with DSS and using a reference frame to keep everything aligned but don’t really know what to do after that. Do you process all three images separately and then combine or combine at the beginning and stretch and process together?

I have previously done most processing with Siril and then some input from GIMP. However, mono seems so different. The image below which is far from perfect (the star colour alone are terrible) but this was done by combining the three images and doing separate colour stretches until I ended up with something.

Can someone please recommend some decent books and or Youtube tutorials so I can make some progress up this steep learning curve?

As stated I normally process with Siril and Gimp, but should I now take the plunge with some other software?

Any help and advise is gratefully received

Ian

Rosette 1401-1.jpeg

I started with mono, then added a colour camera and had exactly the same problem. It's what you are used to.