NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Making usable a gift mediocre scope

ingrast

I was presented some weeks ago with a Celestron PowerSeeker 127 short tube newtonian telescope.

I have no observational background, neither owned or even peered through an eyepiece before, but have been acquainted with the trade for years through reading. This was the first chance to put to use whatever I may have learned about telescope use and issues.

This product belongs to the low cost could-have-been-made-better category, where cost cutting often unnecessarily spoils what cound have been a far better instrument.

- Mount. Shaky extruded aluminium tripod, wobbles at the slightest touch of the focuser knob. Fixed that filling the legs with mortar and fitting a wooden spreader to stress it open, much stiffer now only the mount elasticity itself is left, will look for further improvements.

- Eyepieces. Probably by far the weakest link, the supplied 5mm (Ramsden?) is mostly unusable due to lack of constrast and minimal eye relief. The 20mm unit (Kellner?) is moderately fair, but one cannot expect an about U$ 200 scope to come with a couple of eyepieces in the U$ 50 range or more, which is to be expected for decent muticoated Plossls to begin with. Add to this a 3x plastic body Barlow.

Planned upgrade is at least a better barlow and high power eyepiece (Celestron X-Cel range seems a good choice, hope to hear comments!), which will be a recoverable investment for eventual future telescopes, may be even a new 20 mm also.