NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

first equipment

good morning troops,

i am a retired engineer in the carribean.   i have a brilliant and crystal clear night sky and the other night i was looking and said   "   hmmmm i wonder what all that stuff is up there "   ...   so...    i need a telescope.... 

budget in the 600 $ range,  computer driven and thats the extent of what i know and understand.   i would like the best piece of hardware that allows me to do the most that i can buy at that price.   it doesn't have to be new.   i would rather have a 2 year old used better piece than a new  less good piece...   so a reccomendation  on good used equipment would be appreciated as well.

safe to say that i don't know anything about anything related to this exercise so if you need more info from me i am happy to oblige.

thx,

steve

After a lot of research I ordered my first "real" telescope yesterday. It's an Orion SkyQuest XT8 and from what I found out it's the best telescope you can get for that amount of money (including an additional 10mm eyepiece and a better finder scope). This one is not computer driven, so if you want that you might need to get a smaller tube, for example Orion XT6i, to stay within budget.

After a lot of research I ordered my first "real" telescope yesterday. It's an Orion SkyQuest XT8 and from what I found out it's the best telescope you can get for that amount of money (including an additional 10mm eyepiece and a better finder scope). This one is not computer driven, so if you want that you might need to get a smaller tube, for example Orion XT6i, to stay within budget.

understood.   i just punched that in and from amazon thats a 350 $ item...  now i recognize that spending more money doesn't mean you get more value but  are you saying that another 250 $ won't buy me any meaningful improvement or features or quality ?  im a bit surprized at that .   for instance there is this  for