NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Tracking with a Skywatcher MAK 127

Hi all

I am only weeks into playing with my new (and first) telescope. It's a Skywatcher MAK 127 Maksutov-Cassegrain with a Multi-Speed Auto-Tracking Alt-Azimuth Mount.

I am struggling to get the tracking to work, and the manual isn't much help. When apply power sometimes the scope starts to track but this isn't down to me pressing any button sequence. When I press the two tracking buttons, nothing.

i am a total beginner so the answer is probably simple. I will try and attach a picture of my handheld controller

PS tried replacing batteries as I read this was a. Problem when I googled this issue, no joy

Thanks

steviet

post-28853-0-82822900-1360099484_thumb.j

The idea is that the mount just tracks at siderial rate as default, you don't do anything once it is aligned and on the target.

What is the purpose of pressing the 2 tracking buttons?

Not sure if you are pressing both at the same time, it reads as if you are.

If you are intending to move the scope from one target to another I suspect that it is moving but at the standard rate which is very slow and so not observable unless looking through the eyepiece. Can you move with that system from one target to another?

Is the scope on a Syntrak mount?

What do the instructions/manual say is the procedure for increasing the rate of movement, if this is possible?

Thanks for the advice ronin. Sometimes when I power up (only occasionally) the scope will start to turn very slowly as I would want when I have found an object to track but most often it does nothing. The manual says "when you are ready to track press the guide and slow buttons in combination" so I have tried pressing them together, I have tried first the guide and then the slow and visa versa, but it doesn't track. As I mentioned above I am a total beginner so I may be missing something really obvious or equally misunderstanding something obvious.