NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Complete newbie

Hi all

I have popped along here as I am in desperate need for some expert advice pleeeeease. I am looking to but a telescope for my boyfriend for Christmas, he is a complete beginner. I had seen the Skywatcher Explorer 130P Newtonian Reflector Telescope but wondered if this could be used alongside an ipad. I did email a camera shop and they came back and suggested the Sky-Watcher Skyhawk-1145P (AZ) SynScan GO-TO Parabolic Newtonian Reflector Telescope as this could link to the ipad but the other one couldn't?

Anyway, I then thought about not worrying about the ipad and just wondered which is the better telescope.

Just wondered if you lovely lot could help me please. Or if you thought there was a completely different better one!! I have no clue at all!!

Phew.

Is he supposed to know about the scope ?

If so then locate the Norwich Astro Society and give them a visit. They meet up weekly but it is a bit out of Norwich and not easy to describe getting there. Airfield, South East of Norwich, Toad Lane or Toad Rd I think. That presumes Norwich is close. If not poat again with a better idea of your location, there are half a dozen clubs in Norfolk

Many go for the 130P, personally not overly keen on it. The next one up is really the 150P Dobsonian mount (same as the 130P mount type) Catch as ever is that bigger cost more. The 130P's are about £130 the 150P's are £208.

There is a Heritage Virtuoso that may be an option. It is not goto, but it will track an object so keeping it in view. Virtuoso.

Cost looks reasonable, set up is I suspect a bit of location data, date, time and it would most likely have to stand on a table pointing North. Nothing difficult. The link is to the Mak variant, there is a newtonian variant, the Mak may be easier.

Leave it there as throwing everything at you would cause confusion even more.