NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Career from Astronomy (Northern Ireland)

GibbyNI

Hi,

Just looking for a bit of advice about making a career out of astronomy. Even though I haven’t been doing much visual astronomy over the last year or so, I have been getting myself through a degree. It’s with the Open University and is a BSc (Honours) Natural Sciences (Astronomy and Planetary science) and im 1/3 of the way through it. Initially I was just doing it for fun, but now I’m getting more and more interested in taking it further.

So my question is what are the prospects of getting a career out of the qualification in Northern Ireland?

I have looked into how to get the Masters and PhD etc and think over the next 6 – 10 years both would be possible. I’m a mature student but only 33 so still have some time on my side.

I know I could go into teaching if I got a PGCE but I’m looking at research etc and the only place I can see that have research programs is Queens. This is where I was looking at doing the Masters and PhD etc.

So any higher education people out there able to give some advice or even some options that I have missed?

Or even looking a mature assistant to help out grin.gif

Any advice would be appreciated.

Hi,