SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Counterbalancing an AZ3? Will this work?

Hi all,

I've finally realised that I'm going to need some form of counterweights to balance my ST120 on my AZ3. I'm not very good at DIY, and will not attempt to purchase specific nuts and bolts and then make something in a shed. I want to be able to buy something that will work.

Earlier on, I read that the AZ3 was Syntas clone of the Vixen Alt-Az mount, but they didn't bother putting a counterweight system on. Seeing as Vixen did, surely I can buy a Vixen Dovetail Counterweight Adaptor, and use it on my AZ3?

Here it is

Will that work?

Cheers

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It works fine when I mount the telescope further down the tube rings, and that's when I've got a barlow, eyepiece, and red dot finder at the bottom.

I'm just scared to add any heavier things to the bottom, so am trying to increase the weight of the telescope at the front end.

Sorry but I don't think an AZ3 is ever going to work well with an ST120

It's what you get if you buy the ST120 with an alt-az mount though, so you've sometimes got to live with it.

I've noticed that the scope is sometimes a little "back end" heavy and push it forward through the rings to compensate. I've not looked to see if there's anywhere suitable for mounting a counterweight, but just because it's a copy of the Vixen design doesn't necessarily mean that the Vixen parts will fit without work.

I don't think it needs too much in the way of balancing weights though, so perhaps the simple solution might be to use some of those wrist- or ankle-weights and strap them behind the dewshield? The other solutions I can think of immediately definitely require knowing your way around a toolbox.

It may be possible to introduce a but more friction into the alt bearing, but mine seems fairly stiff as it is so I'm not certain that's a great idea.

James