SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Buying Skywatcher 200p?

Hi.

I'm new to astronomy but I've been a professional photographer for a few years and have been really interested in learning more about the sky.

After speaking to some people about equipment, I plan to get some decent zoom binoculars to start with, but I'm planning to order my first scope when funds allow.

I hope to (eventually) get to the stage where I can get some good photographs of the moon, planets, messiers etc.

I think I've decided on a scope - Skywatcher Explorer 200p with a EQ5 mount.

This is the fastest I can afford with the possibility of ordering a Synscan GOTO attachment in the future.

I currently have a Canon 5D mkII, but I also plan to order a Philips SPC-880 (and flash it with the 900 software).

Can you guys give your opinion on that scope for my needs and suggest any small accessories I should get at the same time? Filters etc.

Thanks!

Hi

I´m new to this as well and I´m expecting to receive my 200p eq5 tomorrow or by Wednesday I hope. I chose this scope after looking around a lot.I´m hoping to do some imaging with web cam but from what I´ve heard working with a dslr is more difficult. I´ve been told that an eq6 is the min for this work.Anyway I´m going to give it ago when I can with my lighter canon 450d and see what happens.

fingers crossed:hello2:

I have been told that the 200pds is better for imaging, and it has a dual speed Crayford, approx £50 more?

As with most purchases it would help if you could look into the future. If you are thinking going down the route of a guide scope plus the 200p then the HEQ5 mount will probably max out weight wise and you should consider a HEQ6. The 6 will cost you more initially but will save in the long run.

I had the same dilemma and settled for a 250px dob, cos I don't think I will do imaging (famous last words)

That's exactly what I have at the mo (EQ5 & 200p)