1825338873_SNRPN2021banner.jpg.68bf12c7791f26559c66cf7bce79fe3d.jpg

noob going to try to capture saturn tonight any advice greatly accepted

right guys i am gonna try capture saturn tonight (weather permitting lol ).i am using a celestron nexstar 127 mak slt goto with a spc880 unflashed (to complicated for me) just wondering if there is anything i could do to improve my chances of a decent pic would coloured filters help etc.

although a total noob i have managed a few shots of the moon (bit dissapointed i cant get the whole moon even crescent in the shot) but still pleased with the fact i can capture anything lol.

sorry for the long winded post but any advice greatly appreciated :D

Here are some typical SharpCap settings - in fact I used these settings to image Saturn on Friday :D

[Philips SPC 900NC PC Camera]

Resolution=640x480

Frame Rate (fps)=10.00

Colour Space / Compression=YUY2

Exposure=-6

Brightness=64

Contrast=31

Saturation=0

Gamma=0

ColorEnable=255

BacklightCompensation=0

Gain=49

The main ones you'll need to adjust are the Gain and Exposure, typically you want to keep the gain as low as possible to reduce noise. Just have a play with the settings and see what comes out best for you... the good things is that these get recoreded in a text file when you record the avi so you don't have to try and ermember what you used for each one.

Good hunting!

roger

I assume you've managed to view Saturn already - if not - just look for her for a bit & enjoy.

Connect your webcam (put the gain up to maximum - just to find & ensure it's in view on your screen - then put the gain back down before imaging

tried a few pics of saturn and they were rubbish so i thought oh well i am gonna have to flash it think i messed it up :p am gutted dont seem to have any cam now any ideas guys or is it all over for my cam :):mad: