Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Any advice please

Dear All

After looking on this site for the past few months, and reading the excellent advice from the SGL community, i have now bought my first Telescope a Skywatcher 150P. Please forgive the content of my first post as i am a complete novice to this wonderful hobby.

As i have always had an interest in the night sky and whats up there appreciate any advice/tips as to anything i am not doing right or possibly the eye pieces i am using. Last night was an oppurtunity to view Saturn, with a clear and dark sky, and was something i had looked forward to seeing for weeks.

I set up the scope outside for at least 2 hours before viewing (to allow for cooling etc), and started to view from about 9.30pm onwards. I was advised when purchasing the scope that the rings etc could be visable through this scope etc but all i can see is the bright pin point of light (just more intensity than other stars nearby).

I have tried every combination of the supplied eye pieces x10, x25, and 2x Barlow, but it more or less appears to be the same image, unable to make out any further detail.

Please can i ask should i look into purchasing some additional eye pieces to the one supplied with the scope, to obtain an view with some detail, and (sorry about this one) should all of the lens cap be removed when viewing, or the smaller cap only, to allow for less light onto the mirror.

Any advice would be most appreciated - many thanks

Even in the 25mm (30x) eyepiece there will be no mistaking you are looking at Saturn. Dare i say it but you were looking at a nearby star.....easily done, we've all done it when starting out.

Are you sure that you were aimed at Saturn? Even at 20x magnification the rings are obvious. A clue is, as you increase magnification, stars appear the same size, just the space inbetween gets greater. Planets however do get larger with magnification.

:D slow typing??