Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello from wiltshire

jabberwocky

hi everyone, just joined the site and i bought my first scope yesterday. ive recently moved to melksham from northampton and ive finally got round to buying my first telescope. i guess ive had a passing interest in the stars for a while now, i work as a truck driver and for the past 5 years have worked nights and i have seen so many things in the night sky during that time. meteors? too many to count, infact i saw 2 within a minute of each other last night. red ones, green ones, ones that last fractions of a seconds and one that i followed through the sky for several seconds.

my knowledge of the stars is very limited, orion and the plough is about my limit of recognition, i can spot saturn and venus.

my favourite nightsky sight(once i had googled what it was) is noctilucent cloud which i first saw about 4 years ago. i was driving north on the M5 just north of bristol and the whole northern sky was lit up just like a sunrise but without the reds, i had no idea what i was looking at, but it was absolutly stunning, ive never seen it as impressive as that first time since then, it was visible for about 4 hours from about 1am, the cloud reached from low above the horizon to about 65 or 70 degrees, it rose and then fell like a waterfall, it was so bright and vivid people from london to manchester were calling BBC 5 live to find out what it was.

anyway back to stargazing, like i say ive bought my first scope, a SW 130M, should i have got the 130P? well maybe but the 130M is what i have, sunny at the moment so hopefully first light tonight, fingers crossed, first target? Saturn.

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi, welcome to SGL

The 130P uses a Parabolic mirror and is the desirable choice