SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

9-pane solar mosaic, April 4th

Starman

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

that pic is absolutely amazing. I am thinking more and more about doing some solar viewing. can you just use a filter on your ep's and see that sort of detail? how about welding lenses? i can lay my hands on them easily as i am a welder so they would be very cheap if not free.

cheers

Adamski

that pic is absolutely amazing. I am thinking more and more about doing some solar viewing. can you just use a filter on your ep's and see that sort of detail? how about welding lenses? i can lay my hands on them easily as i am a welder so they would be very cheap if not free.

cheers

Adamski

To get detail like the one posted you would need a Ha filter , they dont come cheap.

not tried welders lense how would you plan fitting to your telescope?

the cheapest way I have seen to date (£14) is home made filter using Baader AstroSolar Safety Film ND 5.0.But you only see sun spot and some surface detail

Welding lenses are unsafe, especially if used in the EP, and more so in fast scopes. Welding lenses absorb light and therefore heat. In the prime focus, this may cause them to shatter in all but the smallest scopes, especially fast ones. In general, it is better to remove the excess light before concentrating it in prime focus. Baader solar safety film is the cheapest option to do this, and one of the best according to some. Other solar scopes have one (interference) filter at the objective, and a second (interference) filter at the EP end. In scopes like Maks and SCTs, some filter or aperture mask is needed to prevent the secondary mirror from shattering under the thermal stresses caused by the F/2 or F/3 primary, even when using some filter (e.g. H-alpha) as the EP end

the cheapest way I have seen to date (£14) is home made filter using Baader AstroSolar Safety Film ND 5.0.But you only see sun spot and some surface detail