SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Any Advice for Newcomer Please?

Hi Everyone,

I have always loved looking up at the sky and could easily spend hours just watching the stars. When I was young I really wanted a telescope but the prices were just too much and my parents just thought it was something I would use once then never again,

Now I am older I would love to buy myself one and really take a good look into space.

I am a complete beginner but I am trying to read up and learn the basic's.

Can anyone suggest any beginners tips or beginners telescopes I can read up on?

Many Thanks!

Ryan.

Hello ryan welcome to sgl, a little information on your budget, what sort of things you want to look at, where you intend to use it, how portable does it need to be, whether you want to image or not automated or not. while you are thinking of these things read the stickies they may help crystallise some ideas for you. probably the only advice I would happily give at the moment is get yourself down to a local astro club and get a look at and through some scopes before you buy

Im looking to spend around £150-£250,

I'm not looking for an automated one as yet as I would like to adjust the telescope myself,

I have got double doors to the garden from my bedroom so I don't mind if the scope is large.

Whats the Pro's and con's between Refractors and Reflector?

im going out on a limb here (without your budget)

i could recommend these on review

AZ GOTO - Skywatcher Explorer 130P SynScan AZ GOTO

AZ GOTO - Skywatcher Skyhawk 1145P SynScan AZ GOTO

if you want to learn the sky yourself and just "aint that bothered" with GOTO

Reflectors - Skywatcher Explorer 130P

or bigger

Reflectors - Skywatcher Explorer 150P EQ3-2