Narrowband

What To Buy For Astrophotography ?

Hi,

I'm fairly new to astronomy and i'm looking for a telescope.

I want to be able to photograph what i see, assuming it's worth it.

I have about 800 pounds £ max to spend.

I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas?

I was looking these two, but i'm only guessing here...

Celestron C8-N GT (GOTO)

Skywatcher Explorer 200P with EQ5 PRO GOTO

I don't yet have a camera.

I might be happy with webcam pictures, i've no idea what can be done with webcams to be honest.

Any suggestions welcome.

I'm happy to get a second hand one also.

I am located in Ireland which seems to be a major factor in buying a telescope. People seem unwilling to sell me anything.

So if you know of any shops that are a bit more open to international sales let me know. There's nothing in Ireland.

Thanks

Mark.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Yeah I read a lot about that webcam.

Is 1.3MP enough though?

I'm wondering if a DSLR might be better just a cheap second hand 5 or 6 mp one.

I'd like to see some results from the P200.

And also the EQ5 Pro goto mount.

Before you jump in and simply to clarify. Imagers tend to use a small apo refractor on a solid mount. The imaging scope can be guided by a second scope with guide camera and laptop to control the system.

What they don't use is a big reflector on a mount that is probably too small (EQ5).

Not going to say that images will be impossible but depending on how good you want them please be aware of what is the prefered option.

I would seriously suspect that the EQ5 with a 200P on board is too small. Even with something like an 80mm refractor the preferred mount is the HEQ5 or better the EQ6. An 80mm refractor is a lot smaller then the 200P.

Ronin,

Ahh, I had heard something about that, but didn't really grasp it.

What i really what to do it have the best view possible and ideally get a photo of it. Maybe that's no t possible.

Maybe not on my budget anyway.