SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Getting to grips with it all.

Being completely new to astronomy, reading the science threads on the forum has really inspired me to understand exactly 'what' I'm looking at in the night sky. Now..I'm no scientist, with only a basic understanding of physics, but I'm slowly coming to grips with 'the big bang', star formation, the speed of light, etc...but have found that theories relating to gravity/ relativity have left me exasperated and deflated. (This stuff just really isn't sinking in!!!):)

After a particularly long session of reading, trying to get to grips with gravity, I gave up, and gave myself a break visiting the hubblesite, to gorge on some stunning astropics, and came across their article on 'Dark energy'. Well...I had an idea of 'dark matter', but 'dark energy' was new to me, and it completely blew me away that, 74% of the universe is made up of this stuff, that no-one can quite explain!!!....YET!!:D

And you know?...I feel a whole lot better now! The universe still remains a mystery...and not just to me!!:)

I know I've got a lot to learn, but I'm not gonna beat myself up about it! It'll come I guess..in time, but for now, I think I'll just stick to the basics, and just enjoy 'looking up'.

Vicky.

P.S Any suggestions of reading matter along the lines of 'Relativity for Dummies', greatly received.

Cheers.

John Gribbin writes well for the general reader. Just read all you can on relativity and gradually you get a feeling for it.

You know that shortly after Einstein's publication a journalist asked Sir Arthur Eddington if it was true that only three people in the world understood it. Eddington stroked his chin for a moment and said, 'Hmmm... I'm trying to think who the other one might be...'

You are not alone.

Olly