Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First Telescope - help please!

Hello everyone,

After spending weeks on the internet researching telescopes I finally admit defeat and am now begging for your help!

I want to buy a telescope for my husband, he's an absolute beginner but has always talked about getting a telescope "one day" as he's into his planets etc. It's his 40th birthday soon and I decided to grant his wish.

Up until last week, I was set on the Skywatcher Skyliner 150P dob, as everyone seemed to be raving about dob's and saying it's a good one to start with.

Today I totally confused myself and found lots of positive comments about the Explorer 150 (P or PL?). I would like to have some expert opinion on which of these telelescopes (if any) you would recommend for beginners and also for getting the kids involved as well (4 and 7), bearing in mind also that my husband's excitement might not rub off them as he would like, so it does not necessarily have to be child-friendly.

Also I was thinking that when not in use the telescope could live in the lounge as a corner feature, so it could be easily taken out in the garden when required. Is a dob on a classic mount better for that because of the flat base (i.e. is it steady and safe enough to live in the lounge)?

A few more info/questions:

- I can stretch to £300

- Portability not stricty an issue but preferably not too huge or heavy. We are lucky to live in the countryside and our garden is very dark at night so shouldn't need to take it anywhere for now.

- not fussed about taking pictures unless he wants to take it to a different level in (not too close) future.

equatorial/dobsonian/newtonian/motor drive/manual ... aaaarrgh!

Many thanks in advance for your help :-)

(ps: in plain English please ;-)

Hi, welcome to SGL.