Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

hello there

I am a newbie here. Ive been through and through this site for a good while now, and finally decided to join up and say hello to you all :D

the main purpose of my post though is some guidance for purchasing my first telescope. Ive come to a sort of stand-off with myself over either the skywatcher explorer 150p eq 3-2, 150pl eq 3-2, or the 200p eq5.

having read through this site over the past week or so, i have arrived at the conclusion that the 150pl, not having the Dual-fit 1.25/2-inch Crayford focuser, is the lower on my list.

and so, we arrive at my point of post...

:p

is the 200p the obvious choice or am i being lured into wanting bigger? around the £400 mark is what im looking to spend and would like to have the option of upgrading to astrophotography in the future. which is why i ruled out the dobs(was this wrong)

anyways thanks in advance for any advice that is forthcoming, and i hope i wrote a lot more clearly than my head currently feels!

Welcome!

These questions come up more or less every week, as I'm sure you know. To me, this doesn't sound like a bad choice but I've not used these scopes. Bigger is always nicer but bigger also means heavier, longer set up time, longer cooling time, etc. Those with giant scopes still retain an 8" or 10" for nights when the big one isn't practical. So a nice scope of this size range won't go unused in the future. If you buy an 8" now it will be useful in the future.