SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

SPC900 - imaging success at last!

Martin-Devon

As a complete imaging newbie, I started off struggling with my SPC800 - the flashing was problematic and did not work as straightforwardly as some of the Stargazer links suggested. However, I finally got there with a flashed SPC900 - and then was bewildered about what to do next - Sharpcap, Registax etc - never seen/used these before.

The breakthrough came with a link to the website Astronomy Shed and if you go to the tutorial tab, there are a whole series of incredibly useful videos going through the very basics step-by-step of how to set up a SPC900, how to capture images, how to use Sharpcap and Registax. In one night on these tutorials I learnt more than I had in weeks of googling everywhere else. To see the videos you need to register on Astronomy Shed, but this is no different from registering on the Stargazers Lounge or Sky-At-Night website, and again, I cannot recommend these videos highly enough (at least for beginners).

I tried my SPC900 on Saturn for the very first time last night, and "bingo" it all worked - I've attached an image of what I obtained. It's not perfect, but bear in mind this is my very first attempt and there is a lot more optimization of capturing & processing that I need to learn.

Just a few things I noticed last night:

(1) Centering the image EXACTLY in an eyepiece before putting the webcam in is essential. I used my 36mm Hyperion on Saturn to centre - but this had to be SPOT ON in the middle so that when the SPC900 is put-in then it is on the screen area (the SPC900 images like a 6mm eyepiece, so crucial that the centering is done properly)

(2) On my CPC800 I had to back-focus quite a lot to get the image from the SPC900 onto the Sharpcap screen