SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Will someone please turn out the lights?

ruiyyanko

Hello, I'm new to all this, so thought it best to work my way up from the beginner's corner and say hello to everyone from not-so-sunny Bispham (near Blackpool). You can call me Charme or Charmain...not really bothered, so long as it's not Chairman or Charmin (get enough of that at work)! The username Ruiyyanko actually derives from my middle name.

I'd had a telescope on my wishlist for ages, but didn't expect I'd ever get one, so think how astonished I was when my husband came home one evening and told me he had a surprise waiting for me in the car and that he needed my help getting it out of the boot. :hello2:

I have to admit my imagination did run wild for a minute, but fortunately, the box in there said 'Celestron' on the lid..turned out it used to belong to a colleague of his who was willing to let us have the scope for £90. :hello2:

While I may be a novice, my husband is a more experienced amateur, having built his own humble telescope when he was a kid. Actually, he's on here somewhere...you may know him as the guy who wrote that Photography 101 tutorial. Since you are reading this, I will presume you survived the tech equivalent of War and Peace without having gone cross-eyed (or just haven't come across it yet)! As you've probably guessed, he's responsible for all the astro-imaging while I am just content to gaze at the stars.

It turned out that our Celestron NexStar 114SLT was on its last legs anyway (quite literally in fact, since it was the mount's motor that finally packed it in). We'd only had it for a few weeks! That's when the tears started (mine, obviously). After much deliberation, it was decided that we'd be better off getting another telescope than trying to fix it, and that's how the Skywatcher Explorer 150P ended up in our front room.