Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Formula

carpman

Guys or Gals

Is there a formula for the amount of flats / darks / bias taken to the amount of subs being used ?????

Also is it correct that u need to take the flats in exactly the same orientation as your subs , Ie need to b taken at the same time as the subs you will be using them for ?????

The reason i ask is as a noob i'm unsure

The other day i took 170 x 10s subs , 40 dark , 30 flats and 30 bias is this over kill or not enough , i know exposures are short but i only have an ra drive that will take max about 25s subs ( until i upggrade and learn how to process the finished stack )

sorry for all the questions but hey ho this is a very steep learning curve

Danny

Sounds like reasonable proportions to me. I've seen somewhere that 20 darks/flats/bias is optimal. Any more than that and you enter the law of diminishing returns, any less and you start leaving in significantly more noise.

Any yes, flats must be taken with exactly the same optical train as your lights.

HTH

You don't need bias if you're taking darks with the same exposure time as the lights. The dark already contains the bias.

Also is it correct that u need to take the flats in exactly the same orientation as your subs , Ie need to b taken at the same time as the subs you will be using them for ?????

Same orientation, yes. Doesn't need to be at the same time though, as long as you've not moved the imaging kit.

You don't need bias if you're taking darks with the same exposure time as the lights. The dark already contains the bias.

It looks like answers lead to more questions:)

@ Ben which is the better option darks or bias ?

Obviously bias are faster so save on time....

So if ive got this right it does not matter how many subs you take . you need to take 20 darks or bias / flats. The last thing i want to be doing is losing any detail i might have gotten ...