Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help with finding objects please.

Can anyone help me? I am very new to all this, after my very successful first light last week I was spurred on to find more objects. Armed with my Turn left at Orion book I thought nothing could go wrong.

Being the bloke I am I decided not to start from page one! I wanted to find some Galaxies no matter how faint. So seeing as last night was so clear, even in the highly light polluted area that I live in I set up while the skies where still blue! The moon was already out and was great to look at it in daylight with the birds all tweeting in the backround.

The evenings objective was going to be the Whirlpool Galaxy and M81- M82. I had read my book to learn the location and looked at Stellarium.

I spent 3/4 of an hour looking for the whirlpool scanning the sky left of Alkaid. I found nothing :-( Not so much as a smudge. Went back indoors looked at Stellarium again. back outside and still no luck. So turned my attention to M81/82 again another half hour or more searching and I could not find a bean.

What am I doing wrong? how do all you guys and gals find your objects?

I am using my 25mm eyepiece.

Is my 130P up to even finding these objects?

I am not liking my red dot finder either. I like the idea but my binos 30x10 can find stars that I can't see to guide me to objects, whereas the red dot is VERY hit and miss. I am thinking of scrapping it and getting a finderscope instead.

Can anyone give me a few tips on how to point me in the right direction to finding things I want to see.

Thanks in advance.

Hi, firstly your scope is more than capable of viewing the objects that you have mentioned. The problem is that M51 is quite faint and with a moonlit sky and light pollution you are fighting an uphill battle as these will lighten the sky and make it far more difficult to find faint targets.