Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Mid-summer observing

Hi,

This is my first year as a telescope owner, and I'm already slightly dreading the period around mid-summer's day where there is no astronomical darkness.

Do people just pack their telescopes away for 3 months or is there still observing or imaging to be done?

Thanks,

Tim.

Hi,

This is my first year as a telescope owner, and I'm already slightly dreading the period around mid-summer's day where there is no astronomical darkness.

Do people just pack their telescopes away for 3 months or is there still observing or imaging to be done?

Thanks,

Tim.

no chance Tim, always a chance to observe the Moon for starters :(

Depends where you live

Down here on the southcoast we can observe all year, get about 3 hours in summer... dark enough for DSO :(

Indeed, some great summer objects to view too and nice to be able to observe without being freezing! Meandering through the summer milky way with a small refractor and widefield eyepiece is one of my favourites.

Indeed, some great summer objects to view too and nice to be able to observe without being freezing! Meandering through the summer milky way with a small refractor and widefield eyepiece is one of my favourites.

looks like a plan, warm weather as well, shorts and t-shirt :( seems a way off yet but here's to it! :)

No,no the opposite for me. I enjoy summer 'T shirt' observing more than winter too be honest. Ok its late, but when your standing there in T shirt at midnight, cold beer in one hand feeling all warm (no coats, gloves.. freezing cold feet). Also like the reduced dew, and on most nights...no dew.

Its ace!.. also love to browser the summer triangle & milky way.

Brill

Rob

Depends where you live

Down here on the southcoast we can observe all year, get about 3 hours in summer... dark enough for DSO :(